Russia Bans Flights From 36 Countries In Response To Sanctions Over Invasion Of Ukraine

Russia’s state aviation agency on Monday announced a ban on airlines from 36 countries in retaliation to similar restrictions imposed by the US and its NATO allies on Russian airlines.

Russia has imposed a sweeping ban on airlines from 36 countries, including Britain, Germany, Spain, Italy and Canada. Russia’s aviation agency announced the move on Monday.

The ban was introduced in retaliation to similar restrictions imposed on Russian airlines in light of the invasion of Ukraine.

Rosaviatsia – Russia’s state aviation agency, said flights from the 36 countries listed in the ban can only enter Russian airspace with special permission.

“A restriction has been imposed on flights for airlines of 36 countries in accordance with international law as a retaliatory measure for the ban imposed by the European states on the flights of commercial airliners operated by Russian airlines and/or registered in Russia,” Rosaviatsia said in a statement on Monday.

Moscow had already barred UK airlines from entering Russia’s airspace after Britain banned Russian airline Aeroflot from landing in the UK.

On Sunday, European Union (EU) chief Ursula von der Leyen had announced the 27-nation bloc’s decision to close their airspace to Russian airlines.

These restrictions were in addition to harsh sanctions imposed against Russian financial institutions and leaders. Some, including the US, EU, UK and Canada, have even imposed individual sanctions targeting Russian President Vladimir Putin and Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 4 =

Back to top button